The Strong National Museum of Play has announced that it is once again time to decide this year’s inductees into the World Video Game Hall of Fame. There are many spectacular nominees, and you have a chance to influence the winners by voting for your favorite. This year’s nominees are:

  • Elite
  • Final Fantasy
  • Grand Theft Auto III
  • John Madden Football
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Minecraft
  • Nürburgring
  • The Oregon Trail
  • Pokemon Red and Green
  • Sid Meier’s Civilization
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders
  • Street Fighter II
  • Tomb Raider

While I may be biased toward a certain franchise involving a green-clad hero, I have to admit that all of these nominees are very worthy of the award. In order to be chosen as a finalist, the game must follow these certain credentials: icon-status, longevity, geographical reach, and influence.

Winners will be chosen by an international selection advisory committee made up of journalists, scholars, and others familiar with the history of video games and their role in society. They will be announced on May 5, 2016 during a ceremony at The Strong National Museum of Play.

Last year, The Legend of Zelda for the NES was nominated but didn’t quite make the cut. The previous winners accepted as inductees to the first class of the World Video Game Hall of Fame included DOOM, Pong, Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros., Tetris, and World of Warcraft.