Forums
Guides
Features
Media
Zelda Wiki
Patreon
    • Serious
    Question Regarding SS Manga’s Canonicity
    • Hi, this is my first time starting a thread here since hopping on from Zeldapedia, so hopefully it’s not a lame one :P

So anyway, I noticed that the Skyward Sword manga’s article is headed with “Non-Canon Information,” but under the Skyward Sword (Himekawa) tab of the Hylia’s Chosen Hero article, it is “Ambiguously Canon Content,” so my first question was which one is it? And my second question is why is that manga not assumed to be canonical by default since it is part of Hyrule Historia? In addition to that, it is the only piece of official media that depicts this all-important first Hero, and the writers seem to suggest that what they wrote was part of the story of Skyward Sword in the message that preceded the manga itself.

If this has a definitive answer, that’s great, if it is instead something that needs discussion, that’s great, too. Thanks!
    • Welcome to ZU!

This question honestly has no firm answer at present- you'll find people arguing both sides of the aisle. So for the moment, "ambiguously canon" is probably the most efficient option.

For my money, I'm strongly inclined to call it non-canon, as it directly contradicts SS in pretty much every way. In-game, we're told and shown that Hylia raised Skyloft, that the humans were weak in that era and relied on her for protection, that SS Link was the first of his kind to face Demise in battle, that the Goddess Sword became the Master Sword via the Sacred Flames, and that Hylia gave up her divinity to ensure there would be a mortal to use the Triforce. The manga claims that a previous Link who lived among the human military fought Demise and raised Skyloft using the Master Sword, which gained its power from the dragons, and Hylia became mortal to live with him when he reincarnates. That, and the manga are never canon otherwise, so why now?