Forums
Guides
Features
Media
Zelda Wiki
Patreon
    The Future Of Graphics

• What is Nintendo's graphic direction for future Zeldas? (Not counting remakes of older titles)

With the cel-shaded graphic style dominating the "current" Zelda era with titles such as Skyward Sword and Breath Of The Wild, has Nintendo finally settled on a distinguished graphic design that will characterise all future Zelda titles? Or is there still room for the introduction of new graphic styles and/or a return to the 'toon' graphics of Wind Waker or more 'realist' graphics of Twilight Princess?

DISCLAIMER: I'm no expert on graphics so apologies if I'm misusing any terms in this post.
    • During or after the release of Skyward Sword, I am fairly sure that Aonuma or Miyamoto said that they were pleased with Skyward Sword's "middleground" artstyle. Then we got Breath of the Wild that once again feels to be just that, a middleground of the two "extremes" (Wind Waker and Twilight Princess). I am totally expecting the next title will have another "middleground" artstyle, but still somewhat different from Skyward Sword and Breath of the Wild.

But I would really like to see a return of Twilight Princess in terms of graphics/artstyle, mainly because it has been so long (2006). At least for one game. And I don't see why they wouldn't, since that artstyle is pretty popular among Zeldaplayers. But I am fine with the middleground as well, also Wind Waker's direction (don't like the character models though).
    • With the LA remake, we have evidence that 2D Zelda is not dead yet. We may yet see TWW's style come back in another Minish Cap type game. Cadence of Hyrule isn't a Zelda as such, but something like that is what I mean. Or they could do another ALBW-type game with such a style.

I feel like 3D Zelda will either stick to the middle ground or lean toward TP's style, but I could be wrong. :)